Doctor Who: The Mind Robber (Episode 1)

Today I decided to take a trip way, way back and watch some Patrick Troughton.  Every time I watch one of his episodes, I’m reminded of just how much I like him.  Troughton’s Doctor is so much more frantic and fallible than some of the later incarnations.  There’s never any doubt that The Doctor cares about his companions, but in Troughton’s case, that care is right at the surface.  No suave posturing for him, he doesn’t hide the anguish he feels when his friends are in trouble.

This is particularly exciting for me because I’m pretty sure I’ve never seen The Mind Robbers before.  There’s no way to be sure; I’ve been watching Who since before I can remember, but I don’t recall this one, so it might as well be new.  My first impression is that this episode was a real budget-saver.  There’s some stock footage of a volcanic eruption (which they escape by engaging the TARDIS’s emergency unit to take them out of time and space as they know it).  Other than that, the sets pretty much consist of the TARDIS control room and a plain white fog.  Well done on the cheap!

The sparse sets don’t detract from the episode at all though.  I rather enjoyed watching Jamie and Zoe wander through the fog.  I’ve done that, and it’s eerie not being able to see more than a few inches in front of you.  Their fear is totally understandable.  (Boy, I’d forgotten what a screamer Zoe is!)  I can’t say much about the story yet, only being one episode in, but so far, I’m really enjoying it.  I watched Tomb of the Cybermen a few months back, and felt it was kind of slow and stilted, but this episode sucked me in immediately!  I look forward to Episode 2.

As for the knitting, it’s coming along smashingly.  I’m working on the mini-stripes between the first purple and second orange stripes.  I haven’t come far enough yet to warrant another picture though.  Perhaps when I’ve finished the next “real” stripe.  I can’t remember if I mentioned where I got the pattern already, but in case I’ve neglected it, I’m using the season 18 pattern on DoctorWhoScarf.com. I also regularly visit wittylittleknitter.com, where Tara Wheeler has some wonderful videos of how to do the orange crochet trim!

I should point out that the patterns on both sites are identical, so I guess you could say I’m following either one.  The former suggests slipping the last stitch as if to knit (per the official BBC instructions), but the latter says to knit every stitch.  I’m with Tara on this one, and I’m knitting everything.  Really though, both sites are fantastic, and I highly recommend checking them out if you’re interested in the Who scarves.  There’s a lot to know!

Leave a Reply

