Doctor Who: The Mind Robber (Episode 5)

Well I’ve finally done it!  Gotten to the end of The Mind Robber, that is.  Don’t mistake me–I don’t mean it was a difficult task.  Truly, I enjoyed this episode greatly!  I’m just not very good at getting myself to sit down to knit and watch.  Anyway, as I said, I’ve really quite liked it.  Episode 5 didn’t have quite as much fanciful fun as the previous few, but that makes sense, as it was the final episode, and the denouement needed to feel a bit more dire.

In the end, I wouldn’t have minded seeing the Doctor overpower that Master-fellow using wits or the sheer strength of his mind, instead of having Zoe and Jamie come to his rescue, but we did get to see the Doctor do just that for a while.  His “battle” with the Master-fellow was great fun!  (I can’t bring myself to just call him “the Master”–it feels wrong.)  It reminded me of the wizard-battle scene in The Sword and the Stone where thinking fast and being creative were the keys to winning.  I do suppose the sort of conclusion in which the Doctor wins by sheer strength of will might have fit better with one of his other incarnations, the third or the fourth perhaps.  Although, now that I think about it a little more, the Doctor’s battle of wits was what freed Jamie and Zoe, who subsequently freed the Doctor, thus I guess it does all come back to the Doctor being a terribly clever fellow!

So yes, big thumbs up to The Mind Robber.  If you haven’t seen it, and I haven’t spoiled it too much for you, I highly recommend it!  (I’m thoroughly unapologetic for the spoiling, however.  When a program aired in 1968, I think you all have had ample time to check it out.)

As for the knitting progress, I got another several rows done which completed the second purple stripe.  I’m pleased with that, but I really need to pick up the pace.  And in case you’re curious, yes, I’ve still been plugging away at the sundress I started just before the last entry here.  It’s coming along only slightly more swiftly than the scarf.  Damn pesky day job.  I really ought to go buy a lottery ticket.

Leave a Reply

