Doctor Who: The Time Meddler (Parts1 & 2), or “Drinking with the Doctor”

I can’t even remember the last time I watched a William Hartnell episode of Doctor Who.  It was probably that summer in high school after my long-term boyfriend dumped me and I consoled myself by watching ~100 episodes of Doctor Who in one summer.  Man that was a good summer.  (It was also an awful summer, but I choose to focus on the good–which was, primarily, the Doctor.)

Anyhow, I decided to watch this particular episode ’cause I have it on good authority that the boys from Tardis Tavern will be reviewing this in their next episode.  I just recently discovered their podcast, and I’m positively loving it!  Thus far, I’ve heard them review episodes I saw long ago or ones I’ve never seen, so I thought it would be a novel idea to watch an episode so I’ll remember it freshly while I listen to Sean and Steve opine over pints.

The “over pints” part is particularly apt with this episode ’cause it’s one of the rare instances I ever remember the Doctor drinking alcohol.  He shares a horn of mead with a lovely Saxon lass.  I clearly remember Matt Smith spitting out wine in Impossible Astronaut, but that’s the only other imbibing I remember off the top of my head.  There’s probably more.  It’s been a while since I was watching classic episodes regularly.  (Heck, that’s one of the reasons I started this blog in the first place–to get myself back into it!)

So.  Parts one and two of The Time Meddler are actually quite good.  I don’t remember liking Hartnell so much.  In this episode, he’s more the kindly-old-grandfather than the crotchety-old-man that I remember from watching back in the day.  Either my memory isn’t that great (probable) or he acts differently in different episodes (also probable).

Other items to note: Steven is kind of a babe.  I certainly didn’t remember that.  Pleasant surprise!  (Vicki is also cute as a button, to be sure.)  The acting in this is better than I remembered for this era too.  The costumes of the Saxons, however, are a bit much.  I understand they’d be dirty in 1066, but their faces are a bit over-smudged, to my mind.

Sadly, I don’t have time for the other two parts–I must be off to gaming.  Role playing waits for no man!  (Or girl-geek.)  Actually, that’s not true.  I think they’d wait for me.  But best to be polite and not make them do so.

My parting advice to you, check out The Time Meddler–it’s a goodie!  Then check out the Tardis Tavern podcast.  You can thank me later.

Leave a Reply

