Doctor Who: Sea Devils Redux (Episodes 1-3 w/RFS Commentary)

Ok.  I took some melatonin a while ago, so I’m going to have to make this brief.  I can barely keep my eyes open.  But before I started nearing somnambulance, I decided tonight was going to be all about pampering myself.  I cooked dinner: a burger using pasture-raised beef from a local farm, topped with lettuce and a fried egg (both also from the same farm) on gluten-free bread with onions and a dollop of mayo.  Decadence!  Then I was still hungry, so I made myself supper #2: sauteed day lilies (yes, really!) with onions and ground beef.  I’d never cooked day lillies before.  They’re delish!  After that I decided it was time for dessert and some quality entertainment.  I made some homemade organic sweet-cinnamon-crunch popcorn and settled in to re-watch the first three episodes of The Sea Devils–this time with commentary by the “Three Who Rule” from Radio Free Skaro.

I’d never listened to commentary with anything before, so I wasn’t sure what to expect.  I’m thrilled to report that I loved it!  I can’t express how much fun it was to kick back, pig out, and let the good times roll with the boys from RFS.  It made my little apartment seem a bit less lonely to have three jocular voices prattling in my ear while watching some good old classic Who.

My favorite part was when Warren and Steven downloaded a theremin app for their iphones.  Warren’s delight and Steven’s pure glee at their ability to “play along” with the soundtrack actually made that aspect of the show bearable this time around.  It made me giggle more than once.

The other thing I loved about it was how every scene seemed to devolve into ribald jokes.  Absolutely up my alley, that.  I felt I was in good company the whole way through.

Oh yeah, and they offered interesting and informative insight into the episodes, characters, actors, blah blah blah.  Tonight, I’m really more interested in the fun, but it was a quality commentary from a scholastic viewpoint as well.  If you’ve never listened to the Radio Free Skaro podcast, I highly recommend you do so, and not just for the entertaining commentaries.  I could wax poetic about how great the podcast is, but I’m too tired.

Ok.  I really am about to nod off.  Just enough time left to mention that I knitted through episode 2 and am 10 rows away from being done with that big…orange….zzzzzzzzz…

Leave a Reply

