Doctor Who: More Sea Devils (w/More RFS Commentary, but No Nap)

I am seriously thinking of making myself a dress or shawl or something made out of that sweet Sea Devil mesh fabric (or something similar–assuming I could find anything).  And yes, before your imaginations run away with you, I’d line it with something if I went the dress route.  Get your minds out of the gutter.  (They’re crowding mine.)  Anyway, I’m not talking costume here–just a fashion homage, if you will.

Ok, first off: knitting.  I’m exactly one row away from finishing the orange stripe.  I’ll definitely post a picture next time.*

I have to apologise for my second consecutive sleepy post.  I got 11 hours of sleep last night, and that apparently wasn’t enough.  I was afraid I’d fall asleep while watching, but I shouldn’t have worried.  The lively commentary (plus theremin and slide-whistle) kept me right in it.  Now, however, I’m thinking about napping.  And that would be foolish ’cause it’ll be bedtime soon.  Incidentally, no, I don’t have mono or anything.  I slept so long to make up for my up-until-5am-Friday-night.  That was the fault of a great Sunspot show and the second episode of Torchwood: Miracle Day.  (I should know better than to think I can “just watch 10 minutes and then go to sleep.”)

So.  I watched episodes 4, 5, and 6 of The Sea Devils with commentary provided by the fellas from Radio Free Skaro.  Here is a measure of how much I liked it: I recently knocked my Netflix subscription from three discs down to two, and I’ve been missing that third disc.  Even so, I hung on to The Sea Devils disc for over a week so that I’d still have it when the second half of the commentary came out.  That’s how much I enjoy their commentary!

So this time I

  • Learned more about the episode itself and Doctor Who in general.
  • Heard some more crazy iphone-provided “bonus” sound effects, compliments of Steven.
  • Laughed my way through more bawdy digressions.
  • Agreed with Sea Devil fashion critiques.
  • Grinned every time they said what a great year 1977 was.  (It really was; that’s the year I was born.  Star Wars came out just before I did.)

I wouldn’t exactly call The Sea Devils a “romp,” but that moniker could easily be applied to the accompanying RFS commentary.  Well done boys; well done indeed.

I suppose I also ought to mention that this week I listened to the TARDIS Tavern episode covering The Sea Devils.  (That’s episode 12 if you want to go looking for it.)  This was purely coincidental.  I’ve been working my way backward through their catalog, and just happened to light on their Sea Devils episode in between RFS commentary episodes.  How fortuitous!  That was all kinds of fun as well.  I can’t recommend those guys enough either.  My favorite line was when Steve said “If you’re a sandwich, this is not a good story for you.”  I laughed out loud.

I’m too tired to go into detail (and this is getting a bit long), but I was also going to talk a bit about how I’ve been toying with the idea of going to the Gallifrey One convention next February, and how no fewer than seven people have tried to talk me into it this weekend.  My financial-stability-related resolve is crumbling.  I suppose I would have rather a long time to save up for it…  Maybe when I’m wider awake, I’ll have to do some monetary math.

*Disclaimer: I might not actually post a picture next time if I happen to be too tired or lazy to do so.

Leave a Reply

