Chicago ComicCon: A Nerd’s-Eye View

So.  Many.  Nerds.

That may sound like a condemnation, but I assure you it’s anything but.  If you know me at all, you’ll realize that it means I was thoroughly in my element.  However, despite the fact that I was in my element nerd-wise, most of ComicCon held surprisingly little for me.  I didn’t have a lot of spending money, so the acres of booths of comics and merch held little appeal, except as a sight-seeing destination.

The aisles of celebs signing autographs weren’t any better.  I really hate talking to celebrities.  Nothing against them, mind you.  I just don’t have anything to say to someone I don’t know.  And I feel weird about fawning over someone I don’t know in real life.  I had no interest in getting anything signed, so I basically skipped all that.  I did talk briefly to Kai Owen, and he was charming.  But the only reason I even spoke to him in the first place was to pass on greetings from a twitter friend.

What was much more interesting to me were the couple of panels I checked out today.  Sadly, I missed the Torchwood panel due to a miscommunication, but I did catch Nicholas Brendan and his twin brother talking about Buffy.  That was hilarious.  Later I went to the Rock Jocks panel with Felicia Day.  Wow, “Rock Jocks” is a terrible title for that movie.  I assumed it would be something about musical football players or something (which would suck).  However, after hearing about it and seeing the teaser trailer, I’m super-interested.  They described it as “Clerks in space” or “The Office meets Men in Black.”  Looks great.  Apparently Jason Mewes & Robert Picardo have great chemistry.  I can’t wait to find out for myself.

Overall, I did have a lovely day.  I doubt I’ll make ComicCon a regular stop, but I’m glad I checked it out.  And I’ll be back tomorrow checking out even more panels.  Might even be writing about it for PreternaturalPost.com if I can find something suitably preternatural to focus on.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll post some pics.  Right now I’m too tuckered out.  Cons require a surprising amount of energy.

Leave a Reply

