Consummate Connage

Whoo-wee!  Another long day of conning in the books!  Today I learned that it’s much more fun to attend a con if you have friends along with you.  I got to spend today with my sister, her beau, some old friends, and some new!  I really can’t complain about a doggone thing.

Once again, I eschewed the celebrity meet-and-greet stuff, avoided buying gewgaws, and focused on the panels.  Good call, as far as I’m concerned.  I got to see Julie Benz (who is even prettier in real life), Patrick Stewart (who is surprisingly hilarious), Daniel Stewart (who is Patrick Stewart’s tall son), Chris Hardwick (who moderated the Patrick Stewart & son panel, & whom I was more excited about than Sir Patrick himself), and the Guild panel with Felicia Day (who is charming, always) and Jeff Lewis (who is really funny).

I did walk the floor a bit again today, mostly in support of companions searching for booty.  I witnessed the acquisition of a plush face-hugger, a replica of the chip from Terminator 2, and a large Predator figure.  Also, the super-sweet Alien vs Predator poster pictured above.  I love how the xenomorph is delicately holding the chess piece and the predator is cradling a snifter of…brandy?  Blood?  Transmission fluid?  What do predators drink anyway?  Regardless, did I mention I think it’s super-sweet?

Wow does a full day like that take it out of me though.  I am bone weary and addlepated after two days of this.  I’m not sure I can handle another.  The jury is out on whether I’ll be returning tomorrow.  I would like to catch James Marsters’ Q&A session, but it’s at 11am.  At this point, that sounds unbearably early.  Also, tomorrow is apparently “family day.”  The thought of a con packed with screaming rugrats does nothing to woo me.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for indoctrinating the next generation of geeks.  I just don’t wanto participate.  Or even witness it, really.

I may go into more detail later about the panels and such.  But as usual, I make no promises.  Wizard World Chicago ComicCon, you have well and truly kicked my ass.  And I liked it.

Leave a Reply

