Sherlock: A Study in Pink

Oh Benedict Cumberbatch, you are so very very dreamylicious.  If it wasn’t for those blue, blue eyes, I might move to Britain and stalk you properly.  Perhaps I ought to become some sort of Frankensteinesque mad scientist and swap out your eyes for those of Rupert Graves (who plays DI Lestrade).  Perfection.

Seriously though, Mr. Cumberbatch’s pale allure aside, I really enjoyed this episode.  I’ve watched all three installments of Sherlock already, but today I felt “A Study in Pink” merited a re-view.  As it turns out, I was correct.  I suddenly got the knitting bug this afternoon, well after I’d watched “The Girl Who Waited” (the latest episode of Doctor Who–I enjoyed it, by the way), and for some reason, I just wasn’t quite in the mood for any more Who.  Apparently I was in the mood for more Steven Moffat though.  He penned this episode, and did it brilliantly, in my opinion.  (And yes, before you jump down my throat, I know Moffat didn’t write “The Girl Who Waited,” but he’s the showrunner, so his hands were most definitely on it.)

I’ll admit, I know next-to-nothing about the Sherlock Holmes mythos.  He always sort of vaguely interested me as a character, but not enough to actually seek anything out or read any of the novels.  Probably the Holmes-in-pop-culture that stands out most for me is Brent-Spiner-playing-Data-playing-the-great-detective on the holodeck in Star Trek the Next Generation.  (To be honest, it’s actually Daniel Davis’ Moriarty that I remember best from those episodes.)  Anyway, I’m not really in a position to judge as an expert, but I found this show fascinating.  Cumberbatch is delightfully strange and aloof as Holmes, and Martin Freeman (whom I’ve loved in everything in which I’ve seen him) is a fantastically bemused Watson.

So if you’re afraid that lack of knowledge about Holmes in general would be an impediment to enjoying Sherlock, let me put those fears to rest.  It’s a captivating show.  I definitely recommend it.  And I can only assume that knowing more about Holmes would make it better.  Certainly, several of my detective-loving friends have raved about it.  Basically, it’s worth watching.  Full stop.

Ok.  Methinks it’s time for me to get back to knitting.  I may even re-watch the next episode of Sherlock.  Or perhaps I’ll re-watch today’s episode of Doctor Who.  Or maybe I’ll finally watch that Netflix movie I’ve had sitting on my shelf for entirely too long.  Whichever, I’ll be knitting, and I’ll be on my couch, so all in all, ’twill be a lovely Saturday night.  (Hey, don’t judge me.)

2 thoughts on “Sherlock: A Study in Pink

  1. Mark Cockram says:

    A nice post which I am sure a lot of people will identify with.

Leave a Reply

