Podcast Wishes and Gallifrey Dreams

Considering how utterly steeped in Doctor Who I have been for the past couple weeks, I’ve been remiss in chronicling it.  Though to be fair, I haven’t been knitting, so I’m not *technically* required (by me) to document it here.  That said, I’d rather like to.  So I will.  So there.  So here, actually.

I recently had the opportunity to be a guest at my favorite bar in the universe—the TARDIS Tavern!  You may remember me gushing about it back in my Podcastastic post.  I believe I said something about giving my eye teeth to become a regular there.  I sure hope Sean and Steve don’t hold me to that.  But I’m a gal of my word, so if you see me at Gally, and I look more like a hillbilly than my pictures would lead you to expect, you’ll know why.

Gally!  That’s another thing I should mention.  Less than two weeks from this very day, I will be in sunny Los Angeles, California for the world’s largest and longest-running Doctor Who convention, Gallifrey One!  (Or #Gally as it’s known on twitter.)  I couldn’t be more excited!  In addition to the nigh-ridiculous number of fantastic guests and panels and programming (Radio Free Skaro and the World of Tomorrow, anyone?), I’m thrilled-to-the-gills at the opportunity to meet so many Doctor Who fans—many of whom I’ve “met” on twitter and can’t wait to meet in person.  If you’re going to be at Gally, please track me down and say hi!

[Side note: At Gally I will also be guesting on another of my most favoritest podcasts, but more about that later.]

Ok, so back to TARDIS Tavern.  (Oh how I wish!)  I spent one of the most pleasant evenings in recent memory there chatting with Steve and Sean and Chris (from Radio Free Skaro) about Doctor number three—Jon Pertwee.  Much fun was had (MUCH), and many an alcoholic beverage was consumed (MANY).  We primarily focused on three episodes in particular: Terror of the Autons, The Curse of Peladon, and The Time Warrior.

You can listen to this friendly, fun, and rambly discussion for yourself before too long, and I heartily encourage you to do so!  I’ll post a link as soon as it’s available.

But remember those many alcoholic beverages I mentioned?  Well a solid proportion of them were consumed by yours truly, so I’m not 100% confident that I made myself as clear as I could have.  To make up for any possible lack of articulateness brought on by the copious spirits, I shall be posting here about each of the stories.  That way I can fill in any gaps I may have left.  Note that these should be used as an adjunct to the podcast, not a replacement for it!  My keen cohorts had innumerable pearls of wisdom to drop, and I’d hate for you to miss out on a single one.

So in the coming days/weeks (ok, it’s me, so it could be months), look forward to plenty of Pertwee posts!  (Please pardon the profuse plosives.)

6 thoughts on “Podcast Wishes and Gallifrey Dreams

  1. Mark Cockram says:

    Can’t wait to hear it, those TARDIS tavern boys are great, and Mr Burgess is a legend. Should make for entertaining listening.

  2. Steve says:

    Here is a little teaser for that particular episode. Four people start the podcast but only three finish…

  3. Josh Z. says:

    Jealous. What a fun crowd to reverse the polarity with. :). See all of you…literally…soon.

Leave a Reply

