Focusing on the Good Stuff

Qui-Gon Jinn - focus - reality

Your focus determines your reality. – Qui-Gon Jinn

Say what you will about Star Wars: The Phantom Menace (I’ve already said my piece), but that line is a killer. It may not be entirely accurate in a literal sense, but there’s some serious and deep truth there.

When I’m having a rough time or a bad day,* I try to meditate on the wisdom of Qui-Gon Jinn. I don’t always remember to do this, but the more times I do remember, the easier it gets. I suppose it’s like building any other habit. You have to practice.

So anyway, how do I put this into practice? I think about the things that are going right. The things that make me happy. Even on a fairly lousy day, there are things I can think about that bring a warm glow to my heart and a fuzzy-happy feeling to my tummy.

So today, at every opportunity, I’m focusing on the good stuff. Like what? Well I’ll tell you. The world of podcasting is pretty exciting right now. The Verity! crew have some vacations coming up, so we’re trying to bank a bunch of episodes before we scatter to the four winds. That’s kept me a busy little bee. Lots to record and lots to edit. And you know what? I’m pretty darn good at editing. It makes me happy to fiddle with audio files and watch a podcast episode come together.

Speaking of watching things come together, I’ve also been working on a video for an upcoming fundraising push for Uncanny Magazine. Right now this is my gold standard for happy things. Not only am I working to promote and support a magazine and group of people I’m honored to work with, but I’m doing video editing—the thing I went to school for oh-so-long-ago. I’ve derived a surprising amount of joy from dusting off those old skills. And it’s turning out pretty dang awesome if I do say so myself! Lodging thoughts of that video in the back of my mind is like putting a warm blanket over my cold brain.

Speaking of Uncanny, I get to put next month’s podcast together this week. And that means collaborating with Steven. I absolutely love working with my spouse. We make such a great team. We think alike enough to make the process smooth, but we have different enough ideas that we’re able to bounce ideas off each other and keep things fresh.

And I could get all schmoopy and talk about how stupidly lucky I am to be with Steven in the first place (and live in Canada in a province that’s becoming more reflective of my own values every day) and how that wouldn’t have happened if Doctor Who and podcasting hadn’t brought us together, and how squeeful I get every time we record an episode of Lazy Doctor Who, but I’ll spare you the schmoop. Because I tell ya, there’s a LOT of schmoop.**

Yeah. There’s plenty of goodness to focus on. There may be shit flying all around and tasks to do, but that doesn’t mean they have to take up my entire brain. I’m saving some space for the good stuff. And in fact, that good-stuff-space in my brain is making the rest of me better at dealing with all the shit.

So thanks Qui-Gon.

.

.

.

.

*Helllllooooo today!

**I really like the word schmoop.

One thought on “Focusing on the Good Stuff

  1. […] how I remind myself depression lies, how I use jigsaw puzzles to calm my anxious mind, how I focus on the good stuff. One other thing I do is try to harness my mental weirdness and use it for good when I can. I have […]

Leave a Reply

