Back in the Saddle…Sorta

rocking horse

After a long silence due to international and intercontinental travel, I am back home in Edmonton and working on re-acclimating to real life. Or something like real life. I have to admit, the re-entry hasn’t been entirely pretty. I’d never spent a month away from home before, and while it was exhilarating, it’s a weird thing to just stop. And picking back up at home is rougher when things aren’t the same as when I left.

I’m now sans job, so there’s not much structure in my day. That’s something I always struggle with. And the joblessness brings mild nervousness with it. Job-hunting in a less-than-ideal Edmonton economy isn’t the most fun thing. Nor is all the housework that awaits one after travelling for a while. Then there’s the feeling of isolation at being in a city that’s at least 1500 miles away from most of my friends and family. So while I meant to jump back into the blogging thing immediately upon returning home, that just didn’t happen.

Instead, I’ve been doing oodles of self-care in the week-plus that I’ve been back. Yoga, meditation, and elliptical trainer every weekday. Lots of good homemade food from real ingredients like veggies and fruits. And a lack of pressure on myself to do much until I’m ready for it. It’s helped. And for the record, I recognize how ridiculously lucky I am to be in a position where I can do all these things. Not everyone can, and I don’t take it for granted.

So anyway, London was everything I hoped for and more. LI Who was a wonderful experience. I did so much more than expected and loved it. Great first-time-at-a-con experience. Spending time with family and friends in the Midwest was something my soul really really needed. And Chicago TARDIS continues to be a fantastic con where I get to see great friends. (I under-scheduled myself this year, knowing I’d be exhausted by the end of my travels, and I was right to do so. I hope to be more active next year.)

I am thrilled to have been able to do all of that, and now it’s time to focus on getting back to creating things–things like blog posts and podcasts and, well, job applications. I might not be 100% productive every day, but I’m giving myself permission to hang back and chill out when I need to because that’s what will make me truly ready-to-go when it’s crucial.

So expect more here in the coming days. I may post some travel diaries from London and write about my con experiences. I might also write about my job search. When heading into interviewland, it’s good to take stock of what I’ve done and what I’m good at. Blog posts are as good a way as any to do that. And, of course, I’ll get back to my patron-inspired posts! I’ve been neglectful of my fabulous patrons while globe-trotting, and it’s time to show them my love once more!

So here’s to more action in these parts. Watch this space!

4 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle…Sorta

  1. Welcome back, I’m glad you enjoyed the trip :) I always like being out and about in the world, but it is terribly disrupting. I admit that’s one of the reasons why I do it, to break old habits and change my perspective. Upon your return everything feels unsettled, and so it can be easier to make permanent changes for the better. I don’t know if I always pull that off since I made the ruts I have to work so hard to change, but extended travel always gives me a leg up. Good luck with the job search, and I hope you find something you really like doing!

    • Erika Ensign says:

      Wise words! I hadn’t thought about the travel creating a break in the middle to allow the new job to fill the space, but that makes great sense! I shall try to look at it that way, as I think that’ll make my brain happy. :)

  2. Michal says:

    I find job hunting extremely anxiety-inducing.

    When I lived in Edmonton I would take very, very long walks in the river valley in winter to bleed away stress and/or ennui…at least a few years ago, there was barely anyone there and it was oddly peaceful. That and hanging out in the many, many used bookstores.

    • Erika Ensign says:

      I should probably make time to do that. We live a 1/2 block from the river valley, and I used to walk there all the time. Lately I’ve been hopping on the elliptical trainer while watching Netflix, which is good for my body, but I think the river valley might be a little better for my soul. :)

Leave a Reply

