New Christmas Memories

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I’m far, far from my family and all the things that make up most of my Christmas memories. Happily, my Edmonton family, my wonderful spouse Steven, helped make this year’s Christmas Eve Day lovely. Christmas Eve was always the big day for my family. We spent it together cooking and eating and playing games and opening presents. Christmas Day was nice, but it was for seeing what Santa brought and then spending the day playing with all the presents. Presents are nice, but nothing compared to a day of family time when it comes to making memories.

My new Christmas Eve Day memories include going out to eat at our favorite Indian buffet, New Asian Village.* I ate more than I should have and indulged in naan and gulab jamun because I’m taking a holiday from avoiding gluten.** When we were good and stuffed, we headed to the movie theatre to see Star Wars: The Force Awakens for the third time. This time I tried to purposely draw my eye to the parts of the frame I don’t normally look at. I tried to focus on the backdrops and the action in the distance. It ended up being a really Zen way to watch the movie. I felt less caught up in the action, but more immersed in the world, if that makes any sense. I loved it. And I can’t wait to see if a fourth time, when I’ll decide to focus on something else.

After the movie, we popped into an open Shoppers Drug Mart to pick up some Christmas supplies like hot chocolate and ramen. (We were cold!) Then we trudged home to wrap presents and watch Elf. Steven had never seen it, and he enjoyed it as much as I hoped he would. His resemblance to “Buddy” is alarming at times.

Just after that, It’s a Wonderful Life was starting on cable.*** I hadn’t seen it in many years, and it was better than I remembered, if not quite Steven’s cup of tea. (Good thing he had LEGO Star Wars on his iPad to keep him occupied.) Speaking of cups, we had delicious hot cocoa and slightly-less-delicious ramen to warm us up from the inside.

It may not have been the most eventful Christmas Eve ever, but sometimes uneventful is grand. This year’s memories are full of warmth and cheer and all those other Christmassey words. It was delightful, and I hope to have many more like it.

I hope your days are merry and bright as well, however you happen to be spending them. And if your season isn’t bringing you the joy you’d hoped, I sincerely hope it finds you in the new year.

.

.

.

.

*We love the one on the south side of town and almost always drive all the way down there.

**Yes, I’m paying for it, but for a few days, it’s worth it.

***Yes, we still have cable. I can explain that with one word: SPORTS.

2 thoughts on “New Christmas Memories

  1. Elvisomar says:

    Of course I know Steven only in a one-way audio manner, but your comparison to Buddy the elf seems most apt. You should encourage him to answer the phone: “Hello! This is Steven Schapansky, what’s your favorite color?”

  2. Elvisomar says:

    Whoops… rats. I meant also to wish you both a warm and cozy holiday. Not too late, I guess. Happy Xmas and stuff!

    Also, what *is* your favorite color? (Correct answer is, of course, “blue, no yellow! aaauuuugh….”)

Leave a Reply

