Gally 2016, Friday: Getting into the Swing of Things

Want more Gally goodness? Check out my post covering Thursday!

Friday is when Gallifrey One officially gets underway. There’s an ice cream social on Thursday night that I always mean to attend but never quite get to. I covered this year’s reason in my last post.

RFS w Peter Davison via Rachel

Peter Davison on the RFS live show

What better way to kick things off than with a rollicking live show from the fine fellows at Radio Free Skaro? As always, the show was great. They interviewed tons of great guests: the 5th Doctor himself, Peter Davison, writers Sarah Dollard and Jamie Mathieson, casting director Andy Pryor, actor extraordinaire Julian Glover, and last but certainly not least, actress Patricia Quinn (who was either overplaying “eccentric” or was possibly chemically altered in some way–regardless, it made for one of the most entertaining interviews in Gallifrey One history). You can listen to the whole panel on Radio Free Skaro episode 515, and I highly recommend you do!

But I’m kinda burying the lede. Before the fab interviews got started, they showed an intro video that may have been my favorite part of the whole convention. While we were in London, Steven, Warren, and our friend (and television producer) Simon spent several days shooting this video. Seeing it edited together on the big screen with a huge audience was everything I could have hoped for and more.

 

I had tons of panels on “My Sched“, but as usual, I didn’t make it to many of the ones I’d hoped to. Between finding time for food, running into people I hadn’t talked to in a year, and simply taking a breather from time to time, it’s almost impossible to do everything.

I did make it for most of The Burdens of Continuity, which featured several of my friends. I missed the beginning though, and by the time I arrived it was mostly the audience asking nit-picky questions about particular items within the continuity of the show. I assume there was a lovely discussion about continuity itself and how it impacts the show as a whole, and that I simply missed it. Sometimes audience questions can be good, but I find more often than not, they’re my least favorite part of any panel. This was an example of why. Still, the panelists were all great and rolled with everything admirably.

The next panel I managed to catch part of was the James Bond Deathmatch. Again, I missed the beginning, so when I got there, they’d already narrowed the Bond films down to the “top” eight or so and were arguing for/voting on which were the best, bracket-style. I think my favorite part of this was how Rachel was basing her arguments on the quality of the theme songs. That was delightful!

I’m not really a Bond fan, so I only got about a third of the jokes and references, but even so, I had a great time. I hope they do another Deathmatch next year. If they do one that’s Doctor Who related, I’ll be the first to sign up! (Especially since my one big complaint was Rachel was the only woman on the panel. One out of nine. Ouch.) In all, I think my favorite bit about watching that one was sitting near Deb, who kept wanting to stand up and yell “FIGHT ME!” because of how “wrong” the panelists often were.

My own first panel of the weekend came at 7pm, Doctor Who Comics: The Year in Review. Thanks to my cozy night in the previous evening, I’d read all the Titan comics and was prepared! Sort of… In fact, reading everything in such close succession left a big ball of wibbly wobbly comic goodness floating around my head. I was having trouble remembering which Doctor was in which story and what were all the companions’ names and who did the art for which stories and…let’s just say I was a wee bit nervous.

Happily, the nerves were all for naught, as the panel went great! Paul Cornell moderated beautifully, and the other panelists brought up fantastic, insightful points that reminded me of what I thought and felt about the comics. I think it was smooth and interesting, and I hope the audience felt the same. My favorite part of that panel was sitting next to Deb and having a few delightful back-and-forth exchanges. I almost never do in-person panels with Deb, and now I want to do ALL THE PANELS with Deb. One fellow from the audience came up to us after the panel asking who we were and what podcast we were from because he thought the way we worked together was amazing. I gave him a Verity! card, so I hope he checks it out and enjoys the podcast.

The last panel I attended on Friday was the live recording of Paul Cornell’s podcast The Cornell Collective. This started at 11:30pm. It was as raunchy and boozy as you’d expect a late-night panel to be. (In part because Deb and I ran upstairs to pour whisky and ginger ale for all the panelists–delivered in Verity! podcast-branded tumblers. Because we’re not subtle at 11:30pm! And Deb was one of the guests, so it seemed right and proper.) You can listen to the whole ridiculous thing on an upcoming episode of The Cornell Collective.

It was a super-fun final panel of the evening, with hilarious questions and even-more-hilarious guests. I’d met Joseph Scrimshaw and Christopher Jones at CONvergence last year, and it was good to see them again. Plus I finally got to meet Simon Guerrier in person, which was lovely! It’s easy to make a good first impression when you’re delivering someone free booze.

As Friday was almost a week ago, I honestly don’t remember what we did after that. I’m certain it involved chatting with my fabulous Who friends and cruising the lobby for ribbons. And like most nights, it probably ended in Deb’s room talking nonsense with my friends. That’s the best way to end a night, really. I do know that (other than Thursday), Friday was my earliest night, which was on purpose because I had a panel at 11am the next morning. (Self-care to the rescue again!) But I’ll cover that another time.

Photo credit: Rachel
Video credit: Radio Free Skaro

One thought on “Gally 2016, Friday: Getting into the Swing of Things

Leave a Reply

