Knitting – Back in the Game!

scarf LS 2016-05-04

I started this blog waaaaay back in 2011. My goal at the time was to watch geeky TV and work on knitting the season 18 Doctor Who scarf. If you read my posts regularly, you’ll know that plan didn’t exactly continue with any strength or regularity. In fact, until recently, I hadn’t even picked up the scarf since well before I moved to Canada. And I moved just over two years ago.

I just looked, and my most recent knitting post was in December of 2012. Yikes. I didn’t realize it had been that long. And that post wasn’t even about the scarf! You have to time travel all the way back to January of 2012 to find any record of that project. Bad Erika!

Well, no. Not really “bad Erika”. I’m trying not to beat myself up for…well, for anything. Certainly not for choosing to spend time on one pastime over another. (In this case, I suspect podcasting is what tugged my attention away from knitting. Considering how good podcasting has been to me, I have no regrets.)

Anyway, better late than never! Making myself feel bad would only make it harder to get back into the knitting game, and I am definitely back! I’ve worked on my scarf about half a dozen times over the past month, so I think it’s safe to say I’m in the groove again. And it’s been delightful! I’ve missed all that garter stitch!

scarf CU 2016-05-04

True to my original aim, I’ve been knitting in front of the TV—in front of properly geeky TV, in fact. Another little goal of mine is to catch up on Radio Free Skaro commentaries. I’m not a person who can listen to a commentary track without watching the media they’re commenting on, and I listen to podcasts while I’m doing things like cleaning or commuting. So I have quite a backlog of RFS episodes on my phone just waiting for some TV time. I’ve been killing two birds with one skein, and it’s been delightful.

Here’s hoping I can keep it up and finally finish this beast. I’m about a third of the way done, and it would be nice if it didn’t take me 10 more years to complete the project. Thank goodness there are all those RFS classic series commentaries for when I run out of series 8 and 9. That’s a lot of hours of knitting. And fun.

scarf LS 2 2016-05-04

One thought on “Knitting – Back in the Game!

  1. […] Ensign resumes knitting the scarf that gives her blog its […]

Leave a Reply

