Even *More* Chicago TARDIS Fun!

Lookit me! Continuing to post content like a content-posting thing! Not sure whether I’m motivated by true improvement or just a desire to re-live a lovely weekend with friends. Either way, I’ll take it.

I should start by declaring that the order I post these events in is not necessarily the order in which they happened. I realized my last post was totally out of order. The “Trial of a Time Lord” panel happened immediately before the Michelle Gomez interview. Not after it. Whatevs. This is a perfect example of what being at a convention does to your brain. Keeping on track and on schedule is tough when I’m out of my routine! Thank heavens for the Sched app, or I’d’ve been lost several times!

Anyway, I’m moderately sure that the next fun thing I did was watching Steven do another main-stage interview: The Warrior and the Tin Dog.

I adore this Lewis Achenbach drawing of Steven, Louise, and John!

I adore this Lewis Achenbach drawing of Steven, Louise, and John!

Louise Jameson and John Leeson were yet another highlight of the weekend. They were charming and enthusiastic and got along with each other (and Steven) beautifully. Again, Steven asked behind-the-scenes questions—some of them quite specific! How many other interviewers ask Doctor Who actors what they remember of director Pennant Roberts? Probably not a whole lot. But it led to some fascinating anecdotes. I suspect that interview will be on Radio Free Skaro sooner or later, so keep an eye out for that!

After that, I scampered over to my next panel, The Fighting Companions, where we had a wide-ranging chat about companions. We talked about those who were already soldiers/fighters when they entered the TARDIS and those who were tougher (or not) when they left. The central question was whether Davros was right when he said the Doctor turns his companions into weapons. Fascinating discussion!

I am clearly making a serious, cogent argument. That automatically happens when you gesticulate, right?

I am clearly making a serious, cogent argument. That automatically happens when you gesticulate, right? Whatever I’m saying, I don’t think Robert Smith? is buying it. Kathy Sullivan seems to be on board though.

I already mentioned the oodles of fun Lynne and I had anchoring our live Verity! In Defense Of panel on the main stage (which was my next fun panel-type-thing). Here’s another drawing from Lewis Achenbach, capturing Lynne and I on the main stage during the show. I love how he nails Lynne’s smile.

We are two sassy ladies, and Lewis captures that nicely!

We are two sassy ladies, and Lewis captures that nicely!

And here’s a pic of the visual maestro in action!

Here is Lewis getting started on a drawing of yours-truly!

Lewis is just getting started on a drawing of yours-truly!

And that about brings me to the end of today’s lunch break. Let’s see if I can keep up this streak and share more fun tomorrow!

Photo credits:
Drawings – Lewis Achenbach
My panel – Steven Schapansky
Lewis in action – Chicago TARDIS. You can find this and other great pics on their Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

